Being good @ anything takes Practice – lots of it!

Impromptu Speaking: A Personal Account -Olivia Hunt, high school student

Previously, I wrote about impromptu speaking and its format, along with how to become skilled at it. I figured that now that I’ve written about impromptu speaking in general, it’s time for me to share my personal experience with it.

I have had some practice with impromptu speaking exercises in English and writing classes before, but not much. At one of the Young Empowered Speaker’s Program meetings, I joined in with the other students and gave it a shot. As I sat and watched everybody go up to the front of the room, choose a topic and speak, it looked quite simple. I thought to myself, “this will be easy, I’ll just say the first thing that pops into my head and be completely honest”.

I approached the front of the room with confidence and proceeded to choose a topic. This is where I realized that impromptu speaking is anything BUT easy. It takes intense concentration and thought, as well as the ability to speak comfortably in front of a crowd. Once I knew what I wanted to say, the hardest part was getting my point across to the audience. I stumbled upon my own thoughts as I rambled words like ‘um’ ‘like’ and ‘you know’. It took me a while, but eventually I wrapped up my impromptu speech and distinctly restated my point.

Looking back on it, I think that restating my point at the end was the most important part of my speech. Whether anything I may have said made sense or not, I ultimately told the audience what I wanted them to know in a clear manner. When it comes to impromptu speaking, there are many, many parts to it that you can try to master, but that does take time. If you are a beginner to impromptu speaking my main advice to you would be to emphasize your point to the audience as many times as you can. This way, you leave them with a concrete idea stuck in their head.

Additionally, the more powerful your point is, the more of an impact you will have on the people you are speaking to. You should aim to make a difference in the lives of your audience members and to really make them think. Because, if you don’t, then what’s the point of speaking in the first place?

Thanks for reading ☺

Leave a Reply

