Reminder what matters

waitinginthewings    (My company at PFEW waiting in the wings before their marketing presentation)

Another reminder that it’s all about building and deepening relationships, giving back and working together.

As you may have read in my last blog post, I spent an entire week volunteering in Williamsport PA at PFEW, a non-profit educational organization. https://www.pfew.org

I work with students and young professionals to help them develop their “Project of You Plan: The most important project you will ever work on”.   I also work with businesses to improve processes, productivity and increase profits through individual personal leadership development and strengthening interpersonal and team communication skills.   In all my work, I consistently acknowledge that no one is an island and we all need to build and deepen our relationships.

Given this fact, I wanted to share this letter with you from the student who was elected the CEO of my team’s company at PFEW. I received this note the day that I arrived back home to my office, exhausted and deluged with e-mails and getting back to business. It made my day and re-affirmed that even though I wasn’t being compensated for my time, I was doing something valuable.

Grab a tissue before you read this:

Brenda,

Thank you so much for volunteering as a company adviser at PFEW this past week. It was extremely gracious of you to take off a week of work for the sake of teaching young men and women about the business world and themselves. You were always there for our team, calm and uplifting, willing to help us with our struggles. This was especially helpful and comforting for me. The first day that I was elected CEO of our company, I was very stressed and was not sure if I could do it. I expressed these feelings to you and you calmed me by telling me that I already had so many great ideas, that I was capable of leading a team, and most importantly, that you would be there to help me when I struggled. I cannot express how comforting it was to hear your kind words and willingness to help me succeed. Another instance that you helped relieve my worry and disappointment was the last time that I talked to you. I was very discouraged that after all of our hard work, we won nothing. You talked to me alone and told me that I had gone out of my comfort zone and lead my team very well. Reminded me that I had worked very hard and should be proud of myself. In a time that I was very disappointed, you uplifted me. It is obvious that you truly care for each and every member on our team and for that, I cannot thank you enough. You taught us a lot about business and the workplace such as having good communication with your team, but more importantly, you taught us about life and ourselves. You explained to us that we should do something in life that we are passionate about. Told us if we did follow our passion, we would be successful. You set an example of how to care for others and make them the best person that they can be. For your generosity, kindness, and care, I cannot thank you enough. You were a huge part of what made PFEW such a great experience for me. You have truly impacted me.

Sincerely,

Nick Duer

I feel very fortunate that my business is going so well and my clients are so understanding and flexible that I am able to close my doors for a week to give back. Many of you also donate your time and expertise to help others grow and you know how great that feels.

I truly believe that we are all here to help each other be the best we can be, right?

This student was not receiving a grade or extra credit for this letter.                                       Nick is a 3- sport student athlete, so his time is valuable. He took the time out of his busy summer schedule to thank me and deepen our relationship. It made my day since I had shared with my group the importance of making connections and deepening relationships.   Do you take the time to thank the people who help you along the way? Nick’s heartfelt letter was a great reminder to me what really matters!

Leave a Reply

